Choose a School

Grade Structure

Home » Students/Parents » Grade Structure

All school districts/boards across Canada offer educational programs from Kindergarten through to Grade 12 (5-18 years). However, which programs are offered to international students will vary. School structures and grade groupings also vary throughout the country. The following definitions are intended to assist in explaining the terminology and help prospective students and parents understand some of the different organizations they may experience.

Elementary Schools:

Elementary schools provide educational programs for students from Kindergarten and Grade 1 through to Grades 4,5,6 or 7. These early years provide an important foundation for lifelong learning.

Middle Schools:

Middle schools typically enrol students in grades 5, 6,7 and 8, however, the specific grades offered may vary by school and region. Middle school prepares students for junior high and
high school grades.

Junior High Schools:

Junior high schools generally include Grades 7,8 & 9 and provide a transition for students from elementary to high/secondary school.

Senior (Secondary) High Schools:

Secondary or high schools offer opportunities for students beginning in Grade 8, 9 or 10 to continue their studies through to Grade 12 in order to complete graduation requirements. These schools offer students more choice and opportunity to ‘specialize’ in their particular areas of interest while preparing for post-secondary education and future careers.  Where offered, qualified students may also enrol in the International Baccalaureate Program or take Advanced Placement (AP) courses.